Athletic Spotlights

Popcorn Bowl 2013
December 20, 2013

Last day of practice each year, Illinois Wheelchair Basketball participates in the Annual Popcorn Bowl. It is a two-touch Wheelchair Football Tournament. After exchanging gifts with eachother, the 4 pre-selected teams participate in a round-robin tournament and then play in a bracket to find out who will be this years Popcorn Bowl Champions. This year, the teams were:

Team We Ball: Derek Hoot, Correy Rossi, Ryan Rtwo Juguan, Josh Maier, Megan Blunk, Alicia Torres, and Christina Michelle Young

Victorious Secret: Shelby Gruss, Philippe Vermettee, Gail Gaeng, Tim Nagel, Kaitlin Kaitlyn Eaton, and Olivia Morrison

Team Wolves: Martinez Hardwork Johnsonon, Nikola Goncin, Guthrie Lindquistt, Ryan Neiswender, Carlie Cook, Patrick Tomic, and Chelsea McClammer

And the winning team... Holy Truth: Jesus Villa, Jacob Tyree, Aimee Gottlieb, Nick Weiss, Helen Freeman, Tyler Brinkman, and Paige Wooldridge

Photos of the Popcorn Bowl are here!

The Men and Women have finished up their Finals and are off for the Holidays. The Women will return January 3rd to prepare for their tournament in Birmingham, Alabama. The Men will return on January 6th to join the Women for two weeks of heavy training before our first Home Tournament of the new year.

From all of us at Illinois Wheelchair Athletics, we wish you the happiest of holidays and we will see you in the new year!